Trader of the Year Awards

Washington State

Governor's Trader of the Year Awards

Each year, the World Trade Club proudly honors those firms or individuals that have demonstrated outstanding achievement in international trade as the Trader of the Year and Emerging Trader of the Year.


Trader of the Year

This award recognizes a Washington State business that has demonstrated success and industry leadership through its innovation in products or services, its contribution to the local economy, and its service to the community.

Emerging Trader of the Year

This award recognizes a small- to mid-sized Washington State business that has demonstrated recent innovation and success in international activities.

Judging Process and Criteria

  • Maturity in international trade activities
  • Foreign sales as percentage of total sales
  • Demonstrated success in international market development
  • Innovation in product or service
  • Contribution to Washington State's economic growth
  • Contribution to the community (philanthropic commitment)
  • Application package presentation and organization

The World Trade Club presented its first Trader of the Year award in 1967 when it was the "Man of the Year" award.  As more women entered the workforce, the award changed to the "Trader of the Year" award.  In 1996, Governor Mike Lowry acknowledged the importance of this award and of international trade to our State by lending the name of his office to the award.  In 1998, in order to recognize smaller businesses, the World Trade Club added a second award, the Governor's Emerging Trade of the Year.

We are proud to celebrate the achievements of these Trader of the Year award recipients: 

Trader of the Year Award Emerging Trader of the Year Award
2015 Measurement Technology Northwest    2015 TUNE
2014 Ste. Michelle Wine Estates 2014 Blue Future Filters
2012  Brown & Haley 2012  Enprecis
2011  Trident Seafoods 2011  Swype, Inc.
2010  Anderson Hay & Grain, Inc. 2010  3TIER Inc.
2009  Mulvanny G2 Architecture 2009  Sonosite Inc.
2008  PACCAR Inc. 2008  NLight Corporation
2007  Key Technology, Inc. 2007  Colmac Coil Manufacturing, Inc.
2006  Oneonta Starr Ranch Growers 2006  Sunstream Corporation
2006  Intermec Inc. 2005  Attachmate Corporation
2005  Itron, Inc. 2004  United Coatings
2004  Starbucks Coffee Company 2003  Armstrong Lumber
2003  WESMAR Western Marine Electronics 2002  Lightel Technologies, Inc.
2002  RAHCO International, Inc. 2001  Garry Struthers Associates, Inc
2001  Vaughan Company, Inc. 2000  Walker Bay Boats, Inc.
2000  StairMaster Sports Medical 1999  Da Vinci Gourmet, Ltd.
1999  The Frank Russell Company 1998  Telect Inc.
1998  Physio Control Corp  
1997  Pacific Housing Materials  
1996  Ederer Inc.  
1995  Eddie Bauer  
1994  Traveling Software  
1993  North Star Ice Equipment  
1992  Zetron, Inc.  
1991  SUPERVALU International  
1990  Arrowac Fisheries, Inc.  
1989  Tree Top, Inc.  
1988  Pacific Lumber Shipping  
1987  Microsoft Corp.  
1986  Expeditors International  
1985  Flow Systems  
1984  John Fluke Manufacturing  
1983  John Spellman, Governor  
1982  The Boeing Company  

 Governor's Award for Global Achievement

2001  Weyerhaeuser Company
   This one-time, special award recognized the international scope and longevity of Weyerhaeuser's contributions to the State of Washington.